dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

it’s totally official August 7, 2008

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 11:53 pm

We are legally married!

This is the post where I make you all look at pictures of the wedding. If you were here I would make you watch a slide show.

You KNOW I am not one to live in fantasy land or to drone on and on about the good shit. You know I am easily disappointed. Pessimistic. So imagine my surprise when the day exceeded my highest expectations.

The wedding was so fucking fun. It was so.much.more.relaxed than wedding #1. Nothing was the thing…the dress, the cake, the day. I highly recommend throwing a potluck party when most of your friends are foodies. Highly. The food couldn’t have been better if it we catered it. Authentic quesadillas, enchiladas, a taco bar, Sangria, mojitos. YUM.

Bright flowers, great music, papel picado, and the best favors, ever.

The original favors were ordered online. Woodblock candles of the Virgen de Guadalupe looking up peacefully with the words Lux Perpetua (Latin for perpetual light) above her. Cool right?

Guess what arrived???

JESUS. Jesus candles. Not just any Jesus candles, oh no. Jesus looking miserable, in agony, wearing his crown of thorns.

“Yes, thank you so much for coming…please take home a suffering Jesus candle.”

So I decided to make my own favors – these Mexic@n Loteri@ matchboxes. I made 25, all with different designs. Do you know how therapeutic glitter can be? Very.

The tables looked like this:

The cake, which I decorated (with real marigolds and purchased skeletons – not my usual deal for those of you who know what kind of insane cakes I make entirely out of edible ingredients.) The Sugar skulls are sugar though.

Did I mention that my grandma got ordained via the Universal Life Church online, and officiated the wedding? She toasted us later in the evening with a sentiment ending in “Remember to vote no on Proposition 8!” (an anti gay measure which will be on the November ballot). You gotta love old school Democrats. My grandma has a bumper sticker on her car that says “Peace is Patriotic”.

Friends, we have a marriage license. Our family is officially legally recognized by the State of California. It is unfuckingbelievable.

And my S, the love of my life, who I have been with for 13 years, is not legally my domestic partner, my partner, my “lover”, my friend, my roommate, or my girlfriend, she is my wife.

 

32 Responses to “it’s totally official”

  1. soulblisszen Says:

    Congratulations, that is just so wonderful!

  2. ohchicken Says:

    dearest charlotte, this post is just so wonderful. i’m all teary in the middle of the night over here. congratulations, friend. your words bring so much hope…

    gorgeous photos. you and s are divine and i absolutely love the details.

    x

  3. ohchicken Says:

    (ha! i realize that in my sleepy state, i basicallly copied soulblisszen’s comment word for word. well, i equally share the sentiment! :))

  4. Frannyo Says:

    Yay! Hurray! More pictures, please!!

  5. Congratulations again! What a beautiful day!!!

  6. BA Says:

    De-lurking to wish you a Congratulations for your whole family. Now if only all the other states would jump on the bandwagon πŸ™‚

  7. Kathryn Says:

    Congratulations! It’s a wonderful feeling!!!!

  8. maeby Says:

    Happy! Happy! It sounds like a truly meaningful, beautiful, & special day. Just lovely. Congrats to the whole family πŸ™‚

  9. Bri Says:

    So, so happy for you.

  10. Melody Says:

    It sounds like a perfect wedding. Congratulations!

  11. amy Says:

    so f*cking cool! congrats to you guys!

  12. ciaochow Says:

    How beautiful. Congratulations! I know the feeling of having a recognized marriage and there are no words…

  13. Anon Says:

    Yes!!!

  14. Chicory Says:

    oh, it all looks so lovely. I’m so happy for both of you I wish I could have been there to throw flower petals.

    And good lord, woman! Glitter stripes and tiny jewels? Damn! I’m impressed.

  15. CONGRATULATIONS!!

    Beautiful pics!! πŸ™‚

  16. Cori Says:

    Sounds like the perfect wedding day for the perfect couple. Congrats to both of you.

  17. Allison Says:

    So fantastic!! Congratulations. What a beautiful day and beautiful family.

  18. tonya cinnamon Says:

    fucking awesome ^___^
    many congrats and loves to you both πŸ™‚
    i am sooo happy for you all and i love the pics!!!
    how did the little ones enjoy it ?
    hugs and love to all!!!!

  19. Calliope Says:

    CONGRATS!! I am so so so glad it was a wonderful day and experience. & pretty please…more photos. Slideshow too.
    That your Grandmother was the officiant just melted me to my core. love that. love you.

  20. Co Says:

    Congratulations! I am so glad you had such a wonderful day!

  21. Steph Says:

    Congratulations!!!!!! I didn’t think it would make a difference going from registered domestic partners to legally married but it does! I love being legally married!!! Sounds like your day was awesome!

  22. chris Says:

    awesome news! huge congrats to you guys! some of my friends who live in oakland got married today too!

  23. shelli Says:

    a thousand Mazal Tovs!

  24. girlranting Says:

    Where in the WORLD did you get cempazuchitl flowers this time of year??? I thought they only bloomed in November for Dia de muertos!

    Gorgeous party favors, great papel picado, and a lovely cake! My best wishes to you two on your wedding πŸ™‚

  25. Jude Says:

    Congratulations, babes! You deserve it!

    And that party looks like it was so much fun!!

  26. Kirsten Says:

    Congratulations to you and to the state of California!!! The pictures looked amazing!!! And you’re grandma is awesome!!!

  27. Clare Says:

    We love that and it all looks fab – I want to see you both in your finery! Congratulations

  28. Anna Says:

    Congradulations!!!! what is the significance of the skeletons?

  29. meanmama Says:

    congratulations!

  30. Jennifer Says:

    Wow! How wonderful! Congratulations! And your grandma rocks!

  31. reproducinggenius Says:

    Congratulations! From the photos it looks like your wedding was beautiful, and how great that your grandmother officiated! We live in California too and were married on the first day it was legal (after many years of domestic partnership). It really is an amazing feeling to be legal spouses, isn’t it?

    Congratulations again! Enjoy your legally wedded bliss!

  32. wonderspot Says:

    I just randomly stumbled across your blog…I may have teared up a bit at your grandma doing the ceremony. Congratulations, and tell her I WILL vote no!


Leave a Reply

