dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

dammit May 17, 2008

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 1:31 pm

S has a plugged duct. After a day of Lecethin, homeopathy, warm compresses, pumping, nursing all the time, showers, massaging and endless bleb searching…it is still plugged. Just when she was finally feeling better downtown (ouchy 3rd degree tear and all).

Advice?

 

8 Responses to “dammit”

  1. Alison Says:

    bah. so sorry.

    Not much to offer beyond more of what she’s doing. you’ve got the right laundry list there.

    and try aiming baby’s nose at the duct – and yes – i know that if it’s underneath this means some difficult positioning.

    also. call your local la leche league folks or a lactation consultant.

    best of luck.

  2. Alison Says:

    i meant aim baby’s nose when she’s nursing… just in case in the sleep deprived haze you’re probably in that made no sense…

  3. K-lurker Says:

    You’ve probably done already, but in nursing all the time is she putting the baby’s chin squarely in the direction of the duct? That is the only way I could get every one of mine unplugged, and it often meant I was nursing the baby in strange, Twister-like orientations during that time.

  4. ~ danielle Says:

    homeopathic Phytolacca Dec. (I hear it’s miraculous), up her Vit C to ward off mastitis, and the ‘wolf hold’ (lay baby down on bed and nurse on hands and knees over the baby to get the offending duct lined up with the babe’s chin). this last one may be tricky with such a tiny baby, but it’s worth a shot. thinking of S… hoping her boobies feel better soon!

  5. Yep, the PPs covered it. The wolf hold in particular is really helpful, if difficult this soon postpartum. If the baby won’t nurse enough, she can try pumping, too but the baby is SOOOO much more helpful than the pump. Massage deep and hard.

    Good luck – it sucks, especially this early!

  6. A Says:

    I’ve had chronic problems with plugged ducts and I sooo feel for S. I started getting them early, too, and I remember that they would take forever to clear no matter what I did. I would do all the things you mentioned and nothing would happen and then finally the duct would clear while I was asleep or at some other random time.

    Now that I’ve been breastfeeding for 18 months, I still get plugged ducts but they seem to resolve more easily, usually either when I find the bleb or my son just nurses them out. All of which is to say that I hope S feels better soon and I’m thinking of you all!

  7. Michelle Says:

    Ultrasound therapy. It’s fairly new, and there aren’t yet many studies on its effectiveness (because, as the PT who administered my therapy noted, we still understand amazingly little about the female breast), and not all providers know about it. But it is like magic. My friend had chronic plugged ducts and it was the only thing that helped. It worked wonders for me when I had a nasty case of mastitis several months ago.

    Call a lactation consultant to find out if there’s somewhere you can go in your area for ultrasound therapy.

  8. dlvc Says:

    Acupuncture. I won’t worry you with details, but let’s just say my wife had a plugged duct that ended very badly. We should have done acupuncture early. She was prone to plugged ducts the whole time she nursed, and used acupuncture early the rest of the time and they cleared up well. Also, watch for redness even if S has no other signs of infection. That was my wife’s only sign of infection, and we missed it. So did a whole bunch of doctors and midwives, since she felt fine the whole time (other than the excruciatingly painful boob).


Leave a Reply

