dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

the dentist March 18, 2008

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 6:14 pm

the week in short sentences.

i didnt have dental insurance. so i didnt go to the dentist.

for SEVEN years.

fittingly, when i went last week, i had seven cavities.

this is slightly nightmarish for someone with dental phobia (google it). even the little metal scraper thing the dentist uses to poke around in there and check things out sends shivers down my spine.

last week i called a dentist and asked for drugs. i went in for ex rays (do these make evryone practically throw up on the hygienist? wtf?). drugs i got. but after picking up the Halcion prescription which can cause retrograde amnesia (yeah) i freaked myself out. then the receptionist was condescending. i almost chickened out.

but i didn’t. i swallowed the pills and tolerated 3 fucking hours of drills, needles, poking around and the awful taste ofyour own teeth dusting your mouth. thank you Halcion
for making it tolerable to th point where i FELL ASLEEP during parts of the procedure.

god bless the responsible use for the drug class “sedative/hypnotics”. and a huge shout out to the previously unknown (to me) world of sedation dentistry. that prescription was the best $9 i’ve ever spent.

 

8 Responses to “the dentist”

  1. Chicory Says:

    wow, I also have dental phobia. And I have also had many cavities from not going to the dentist (to be fair, those were also years I didn’t have dental insurance). But I have never gotten a drug like that. I’m going to ask for it next time…

  2. gypsygrrl Says:

    *la la la la la la la la la la*

    <—–dental phobic in the room…

    *la la la la la la la la la la*

    ~~~~~deep breathing~~~~~

    oooh i have wanted to know what the sedation dentistry is like and what they use for it…

    ~~~~~more deep breathing~~~~~
    ok. you MAY have convinced me to ask for this.
    once i quit having the willies your ohsodescriptive post has elicited. i literally started making weird vocalizations because of the shivery feelings up and down my spine and ohhh.

    yes. i am going to get me some Halcion.
    *la la la la la la la la la la*

  3. girlranting Says:

    Well, I see I’m not alone.

    I have had to have EXTENSIVE dental work due to an accident while I was a child. I’m talking 4 root canals. Since I was like 7.

    Aside from that, I have my share of fillings and orthodontic work. I have had wisdom teeth removed normally and through surgery.

    But the worst, I must say, were the root canals.

    How I lived through them? Even as a child I was sneaky. I kept saying I could still feel pain until they gave me so much anesthetic that I was knocked out. I slept through the whole thing.

    I still get the willies remembering it.

  4. Susan Says:

    As a dental phobic myself…I agree…God Bless Halcion! I however have never fallen asleep…but at least it gets me in the chair!

  5. Jude Says:

    Oh my gosh, I need to get my hands on some of that. I am seriously dental phobic and while it hasn’t been 7 years (this time), it has been a couple AND I had a pregnancy in that time which can cause drama with the teeth. And last time I went, I was told I needed skin grafts because my gums were receding. (This is apparently genetic. Sorry, kid!) And I can’t get myself to make that call.

    But perhaps I can make a call that involves Halcion. Seriously.

  6. jessie Says:

    I HATEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE the dentist. HATE. Would rather poke my eyes out.

  7. I don’t know where you are, but here in CO, some dentists do “sleep dentistry” where they actually put you out.

    Works for me!

    GG

  8. ju. Says:

    I actually LOVE going to the dentist and always watch everything! I had a root canal and watched the whole thing with a mirror in front of my face.

    Julianna
    Capricorn Baby (formerly Two Georgia Mommies)


Leave a Reply

