dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

baby names February 11, 2008

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 9:16 pm

Here is Smarty’s list, in order, starting with his first name ideas 3 months ago, ending in the present. This is not one of his talents, as you will soon see.

1. Carol

2. Waffle Recipe

3. Da-dé

4. Clem.entine (one of his fave fruits and the only not weird name)

5. Smarty (you know, but his real name)

Let us start with Carol. Can you think of a worse name for a little baby? It’s right up there with Judy. Here is my baby…Carol. Here is my baby…Judy. A 40 year old named Carol, fine. Totally fine, but an infant? It is dreadful and Smarty insisted that this was her name, followed by real tears streaming down his face, if we tried to tell him it was something else, for weeks. He wouldn’t even concede that he could call her Carol while we called her something else. Oh no. “Carol is her real name, mommy [sniff, sniff].”

Movin’ on. First name Waffle, middle name Recipe. Sometimes he would change it up, musing that Recipe Waffle was an equally fantastic name.

Da-dé. Pronounced Dah-DAY. I have nothing to say about this awful sounding made up crap.

Cl.ementine. Pronounced “ClemenTIME”. Fucking adorable. We actually considered this. We still are. Cute stuff.

Smarty. What does it mean that he is now insisting we name the baby his own name. He even said that we should have a 3rd baby and also name that his same name. There is no reasoning with him. He doesn’t care that no one would know who was being called or talked to. He just smiles and insists that her name will be Smarty.

Nutty child.

 

18 Responses to “baby names”

  1. gypsygrrl Says:

    hmmm…maybe this is how Geo.rge Fore.man got started with his sons all having the same name…?

    Smarty the First is one hell of a cutie!!!
    Waffle Recipe. *still giggling*
    oh. and i LOVE Clemen.tine!!!

  2. ohchicken Says:

    gypsygrrl stole my thunder. i immediately thought of mister foreman. and all his georges. aren’t there like 17 now? boys and girls?

    meanwhile, we’ve chosen one of those dreadful middle age woman names for sparky, but with a better vowel thrown in to make it much, much better. 🙂

    can i mention just how happy i am that you are writing about names instead of constant worry? i am so excited to “meet” little carol waffle recipe, whom you’ll call smarty for short, and clement.ine when she’s citrusy 🙂

  3. Jude Says:

    Now I don’t know about Waffle Recipe (it has a nice ring to it), but I was called Judy as a child, and I’m not even 40 yet.

    xo

  4. Rachel Says:

    Hah — I like Judy (Daddy Long Legs! Judy Garland!) AND Carol, but I’m retro like that. I think all those names will be right back once the crowd’s done with Emma/Emily/Ava/Sophie/Isabelle/Olivia.

  5. gypsygrrl Says:

    at least Smarty didnt pick Myrtle or Buelah.
    😉

  6. mrsbluemont Says:

    how can you resist?! i don’t know if i could stand up to smarty and his adorable ways. clemenTIME is heaven. and there have been worse names than waffle recipe. ok, maybe not. good luck convincing smarty on whatever you choose! ox

  7. bri Says:

    my sister had 2 favorite dolls – baby judy and baby carole. ha!

    clementine carol…. it’s like a weird fruity christmas.

  8. barbara Says:

    Carol is my mom’s name, so I am a little partial to it, and my middle name is Judy, named after Judy Garland, so I think it is sweet. I also have a retro first name that you would probably think is horrible for a baby! LOL! I’ve liked the name Clementine for a while now, I think it is beautiful! Your boy’s got good taste in my book!

  9. oneofhismoms Says:

    I vote for Waffle Recipe. I mean… I would vote for Waffle Recipe to be president.

    If you name her Clementine, I think her middle name should be Marmalade. (I really do like that name. I mean, not the Marmalade part. I’m just being silly because Recipe is such a great middle name.)

  10. tbean Says:

    Smarty cracks me the hell up. Thank you for sharing the humor and wisdom of the three year old mind with all of us internets. And her, W.R. could be a cute nickname, right? You don’t have to tell people what it really stands for.

  11. charlotte Says:

    okay okay naming a baby after a family member or for judy garland is cute.

  12. Brooke Says:

    My son remains convinced that this baby (due in a few weeks) will be called Tarzan. WHether it’s a boy or a girl, and there is no convincing him otherwise.

    *sigh* I forsee many years of my child being called Tarzan by its brother.

    And I vote for Waffle Recipe as well. Best name ever 🙂

  13. coolerdoula Says:

    Lol, Waffle Recipe.

    That’s great. But Clementine is definitely better.

  14. Susan Says:

    Don’t you just love kids! My niece called her brother “Timothy Carmel” and would argue with anyone who corrected her and said not it “Timothy Carl” I think she and Smarty are about the same age.

    Good luck with that list! Its too cute!

  15. Judy Says:

    My real name is Judith and I was called “Dith” for a long time. Personaly I don’t like Judy either but Clemmie is sweet

  16. Clare Says:

    For what it is worth Thomas at seven when we first found out Gaye was pregnant that the baby should have his name. First, middle and last!

  17. byrdlady Says:

    Cute. 😉

  18. […] Get more information about this from the author here […]


Leave a Reply

