dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

i’m not a co-registrant February 1, 2008

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 9:30 pm

I went to make a little registry at Ta.rget and the boxes where you enter your information both have a little pull down menu with choices “mother” and “father.”

Clicking on two “mother” buttons instead of “mother” and “co-registrant”…well it made me cry. 

It is this kind of simple change to words on a form (we got married in 2003, when one of us had to go in the “groom” slot) that makes all the difference in the world.

 

9 Responses to “i’m not a co-registrant”

  1. pourlebebe Says:

    That’s great! It feels so wonderful when that happens. When we got married in 2006 we were both able to be “bride”. I remember being so happy about it!!!

    ;c )

  2. gypsygrrl Says:

    awwwww… that is so sweet. its amazing how these *simple* respectfulness things can mean the world. in my classes, when they offer suggestions of practicing physical assessments and taking vital signs and all, one or two of the teachers ALWAYS say “significant other” or “partner” instead of “husband/wife” etc… its very nice to have then make it gender neutral. one of my doctors also has the intake sheet with “relationship status” and NOT “marital” status…with committed relationship as an option. its nice when people make the effort.

  3. jessie Says:

    Go Target! That’s fantastic. When we were registering before our wedding, I was so happy that one of the places we went didn’t use “bride” and “groom” at all, JUST registrant and co-registrant.

  4. Oh wow!! THat’s wonderful!!!

  5. I think that’s great!
    Though I try in my daily life to be considerate towards and respectful of people who are of a different gender/sexuality/race/ethnicity/religion/etc. than me, I admit, the issue you mention above is not something I’ve ever really considered before…but since reading your post, I’ve been thinking that from now on, I will have to pay even more attention to my own word choices!

  6. wow! I just got chills. Thats SO exciting. I can’t wait!

  7. ohchicken Says:

    i was so surprised and happy when i chose mother and mother with the big red t too. 🙂

  8. Lo Says:

    Wow….with BRU I’m a co-registrant (and you can’t even search by my name, I don’t think, blah). We also did the co-registrant thing when we got married, if I recall correctly.

    Being “bride” and “bride” and “mother” and “mother”…words have power, huh.

  9. That is so fantastic. This post just brought a huge grin to my face.


Leave a Reply

