dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

drumroll please…. December 11, 2007

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 7:04 pm

You know I’m gonna make you wait for it.

Please forgive the brevity here. I forced S to let me stop on a coffee shop with free computers and Internet access so I could tell you all, my beloved Internets who have been with me through all the dramatic and quiet moments of this process, both TTC and during both pregnancies. I will let go of trying to make a perfect post here. I have 10 minutes.

First, thank you a from the depths of my being for all of your support and for sticking with me through all of my neuroses. Especially lately when I a dealing with all of these luxurious problems. I am truly brought to tears right here over my decaf latte, in front of all the cool kids in this cafe. Thank you.

The technician was late. When we finally got called back, S had to pee. Of course. Right then. Take your time honey.

While she was gone I had an interesting exchange with the tech. Normally this type of exchange would irritate me because I’m big on the feel your feelings crap. For some reason though, it just set me straight. Gave me the perspective I needed.

Me: Just so you know, we are DYING to know the sex.

Her: Great. Just please don’t be disappointed. You have a 50% chance it will be what you want.

Me: okaaaay

Her: You know, you might not get what you want. You’ll get what you need.

That was that. I just kinda relaxed for the first time. Again, in another circumstance this would have bugged the shit out of me. Like DON’T tell me how to feel lady. Instead, I relaxed into the idea that I would get what I needed. I knew I would be happy no matter what. I knew instantly (thank you Bossy Ultrasound Chick) that I was not going to be disappointed. Miracles happen people.

Then S came back in, just in time to miss the whole conversation. The ultrasound began, and from the first fuzzy black and white peek I knew I loved it. Boy. Girl. Whatever. A living, kicking baby with all the right parts. The beating heart set me right over the edge.

Ultrasound chick started measuring, clicking buttons, zooming in. I was on the edge of my seat, but the receptionist told me it would be a 40 minute ultrasound, so I wasn’t holding my breath. We looked at the spine, the tailbone, some pretty little organs. I was happy. An alive baby, people. My baby. Our baby.

Then, out of no where Bossy Ultrasound Chick says:

“Ladies…you are having a girl.”

 

34 Responses to “drumroll please….”

  1. TTC4years Says:

    Tee hee- I am first– congratulations! A beautiful experience for you- and I am sooo happy.

    And that technician rocks!

  2. Lo Says:

    That’s what you needed, all right.
    I am pretty damn grinningly happy for you. You soooo deserve to get what you knew you wanted & needed. (Not hat a boy would have been bad news. You know what I mean.)
    I just knew that sweet little u/s pic you posted before looked feminine, somehow.
    Hoping we are just as lucky someday down the road….
    Love to Space Monkey and family!

  3. lagiulia Says:

    Hip hip hooray!!!!!!!!!!

  4. megan Says:

    yeeeeaaaahhhh for you guys! i’m glad SHE looked good and came in measuring what she was supposed to. yeah for a healthy baby girl!

  5. B Says:

    Congratulations to both of you. What great (and wished for) news!

  6. Jude Says:

    WAHOoOOOOO!OoooOoO!OOoO!

  7. cooler*doula Says:

    I skipped straight to the end… And then went back and read from the top.
    😉
    Hooray! A healthy babe. And a girl.

  8. ethansmama Says:

    I of course love suspense so I read it from beginning to end, so happy for you, that you have a healthy perfect baby, who just happens to be a girl.

  9. Hope Says:

    yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!!!!!!!

  10. WONDERFUL!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

  11. Becky Says:

    YAAAAAAYYYY!

    Congratulations!

  12. crystal Says:

    OMG HOW EXCITING FOR YOU ALL and what a joy to have a little sister for LM 🙂 All my happiness you three!!!

  13. Jennifer Says:

    Congratulations on your daughter.

  14. AWWWW , so cool. Congrats! A baby girl! GREAT news.

  15. francesca Says:

    Congrats on the little wee healthy one. You’re going to be dosmamas to dosbebes !!! She will make the perfect addition to your family, and it will be perfect because it is YOUR family.

  16. pourlebebe Says:

    Congratulations!!! We’re so happy for all of you!!!! (I too skipped to the bottom and then went back, about three times!)

    Yay!

  17. AJ Says:

    I’m glad you got what you needed. Congrats!

  18. Co Says:

    A sister for LM! Awesome.

  19. I am so happy for you both. Teared up reading the post – it was a good one even if written quickly. smiling from ear to ear.

  20. ohchicken Says:

    oh oh oh oh! i’m late to the party but CONGRATULATIONS!!! so will this babe be nicknamed LW here? 😉

  21. Kim Says:

    Congratulations!!

  22. Melody Says:

    Whoooo-hooooooo!! Congrats!

  23. Bri Says:

    CAROL!
    I am truly happy for you.
    Done. It is the best thing.

  24. gold star Says:

    Dude. Talk about going out with a bang. Being done and GETTING WHAT YOU WANTED (needed)!

    So happy for you both. bring on the striped tights!!

    um. if we have a boy I’m totally putting him in striped tights. just fyi.

  25. Susan Says:

    CONGRATS ON TEAM PINK!

    Shoot, I had something else to say and it has totally slipped my mind….

  26. Calliope Says:

    Love an ultrasound tech that can quote The Rolling Stones.
    so fucking thrilled for you both!
    xo

  27. tonya cinnamon Says:

    holy shite!!!!! CONGRATS !!!!:D
    IM SO HAPPY FOR YOU ALL!!!!!!
    woooot
    hugs to you all

  28. kjandthekids Says:

    You got what you needed 🙂 now your family is complete.
    or is it ? dun dun duuuun

  29. christine Says:

    SO SO HAPPY for you two!! Congrats on your beautiful little girl! Stripey tights and cute dresses, here you come!!! Way to go, mommies!

  30. complicatedmama Says:

    wow, reading that last part put a big lump in my throat! i am so happy for you guys! a healthy baby AND a girl. what a lucky little girl she is too! cant wait to meet HER!

    so what did you get when you went shopping? pictures please, of the baby too! yay for you, getting what you want!!


Leave a Reply

