dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

the stopping of the progesterone October 4, 2007

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 11:39 pm

When did your RE’s tell you to stop? Dr. PSS said 10 weeks, no tapering, just stop. That sounds fine to me (especially because I think her progesterone was perfectly fine to begin with), but S is worried about it. Did you taper? Ten weeks? Twelve?

 

13 Responses to “the stopping of the progesterone”

  1. jenny Says:

    My RE had me stop cold at 9 weeks after IVF. He had not even checked my progesterone. I was a bit worried, but here I am 26 weeks pregnant, so I wouldn’t worry about it. I think sometimes they taper you if you are doing injectible progesterone, since it is a much higher does and more is being absorbed.

  2. Jodi Says:

    Hi there! Long time lurker, first time poster. I’ve been following your journey for quite a while now, and my partner and I were going through many of the same things at the same times. I’m happy to report that we are one day behind you guys, and I am 10 weeks pregnant today! Also a bit panicked about stopping the progesterone, but the RE said 10 weeks. No taper. Just stop. A little nervous, but SO HAPPY to shove those things to the BACK of the fridge and NOT look at them again. 🙂

  3. Co Says:

    When my R.E. saw that all looked good at my 9w2d u/s and discharged me, he told me to stop immediately. I was a little nervous about it, too, but it was fine. 10 wks seems fine. I’m sure S. is producing lots of natural progesterone by now.

  4. Co Says:

    Oh, and I didn’t ask the blogosphere–despite being nervous about it–because I reasoned, my R.E. would *not* tell me to do anything that might jeopardize my pregnancy. So, if he told me go off cold turkey, it must be okay.

  5. Kim Says:

    Hi – I’m 8W3D and my RE had me stop at exactly 8 weeks, which is standard for their practice. According to my RE, they only ween IVF mothers that are using injectible progesterone. I too was nervous when my nurse first told me to stop, but my RE totally calmed my fears.

  6. Lynn Says:

    My doc had me do a cold stop at 13 weeks. Good luck!

  7. This is the FUNNIEST part about it.
    I HATED progesterone shots. THey FUCKING hurt and after a while my ass was SOOOO bruised there wasn’t a good place to stick the needle. but when my doctor told me to stop…I was SCARED SHITLESS. I would have continuted those damn shots until the 40th week if need be. I didn’t. I quit when they told me and everything was fine.
    Those babies are making enough progesterone to hold 8 babies in there.
    You made it, you made it. no more shots
    Celebrate 🙂

  8. Jeani Says:

    14 weeks with a 4 week taper. Jeri was also having twins but I don’t know if that matters.

  9. bleu Says:

    Week 13 – 15 but I was monitored.

  10. lagiulia Says:

    I think we stopped somewhere around 10 weeks… something about the placenta taking over. But I remember feeling anxious about it too.

  11. jennifer Says:

    They didnt taper me…cold turkey at around 8 weeks and they didnt monitor me at all. I was scared that something bad would happen, but everything was just fine.

  12. Katy Says:

    My doc had me stop just after the first ultrasound where we saw a viable heartbeat – I was at 7 weeks. He said once you see a heartbeat there is no more need for progesterone supplementation.

  13. aisha Says:

    The hospital told me to stop taking progestrone pesseries at 8 weeks after IVF. I was not monitored either and they told me it was practice to stop at 8 weeks. They said that they were no longer needed after 8 weeks.


Leave a Reply

