dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

THE CAKE July 7, 2007

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 10:31 pm

OK people. Are you ready? This is the cake I made for my best friend’s birthday. She loves witches, and loves cartoony style. I have a great ca.ke book with insanely beautiful cakes. (I did not make this ca.ke up). All told, I made it over 3 days: baking one day, assembling the cake shape one day and decorating today.

This was so fucking hard to make. It is chocolate cake with ganache inside, the caul.dron is fondant, the witch is sugarpaste, and the brew is whipped cream with fondant stars. I made the dress too long – otherwise you would be able to see her green and orange striped stockings.

I rock, right?

I am wondering why I have this very weird talent. It is completely shocking to me. I am SOOOOO not patient, in life, you know? But somehow (and you never know when) I have this drive to bake and decorate absurdly elaborate cakes. I never know when I am going to want to do it. Suddenly I want to make a cake and I make a MEAN cake. But what a wasted creative outlet, right? I spend three days making something that is enjoyed for one evening and then eaten. We slapped some candles in the cauldron, sang a song, and sliced right through that fucker. But the reaction to the cake was good. Crack good. That must be why I do it.

 

29 Responses to “THE CAKE”

  1. ohchicken Says:

    holy shit!!! this is amazing! so amazing that i am inclined to use many exclamation points!!!

  2. K77 Says:

    That is one HELL OF A CAKE!!!

  3. Melody Says:

    That’s incredible!!

    That’s “must open a bakery or cake decorating business” incredible.

  4. Rachel Says:

    WOW! That’s amazing! I’ve followed your blog for a few months and I know you are wanting to find a new job. Could this be it? I know it’s a self-employment kind of thing, but you could make a lot of money with little overhead. Have you seen the prices of wedding cakes lately? I got married last year and the woman who did our cakes worked from her home. At the very least, it could be a way to make extra money on the side…

    I don’t know where you live but if I ever move there, I’m having you bake a cake for me!

  5. j Says:

    Nice cake, girlfriend.

    You do realize that if we lived near each other we’d likely be dangerous to ourselves and society?

    I agree with Rachel. Think about doing this for money!!!

  6. amanda Says:

    HOLY CAKE!! You need to open your own store, or have your own show, or something! That is incredible, seriously. i cannot even fathom how you were able to do that!

  7. Co Says:

    Can I just say, WHOA???!!! This is coming from someone who took 3 cake decorating classes.

    That is absolutely the most amazing cake I’ve ever known anyone to create. You could totally make some extra cash as a part-time cake decorator if you wanted to. And it’s not a wasted talent. My mom made my aunt’s 25th anniversary cake and people in my family still rave about it. So, while the cake was fleeting, the memory was not.

  8. Calliope Says:

    wow. stunning.
    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. cake.
    You could totally get PAID for this amazing skill.

  9. jay Says:

    agree with Cali! you could so get paid!

    that is a really brilliant cake!! x

  10. veeandjay Says:

    Incredible!
    And there’s something deliciously decadent about it’s transient nature.

  11. indigoscot Says:

    holy crap that’s AMAZING! i agree with pp, you could do that for a living!!!!!

  12. I have to echo the holy craps — that’s incredible! You have another career option… truly beautiful.

  13. Lo Says:

    That is gorgeous. And its attractiveness is, I imagine, equalled only by its yumminess (by your description…ganache…mmmmm). I think this is an awesome talent. You can take pix that last forever, and you make people so happy!

  14. nycphoenix Says:

    So how fast can you fed ex a cake to me?

    It is amazing!! You really have to explore this as a job. Maybe apprentice with a baker and start a business at home!! Please promise you’ll look into it.

  15. TTC4years Says:

    OK- I want it to be my birthday. Every day…. if I am going to be overweight, I want it to be because I eat that kind of cake!!

  16. Bri Says:

    Holy. Mothereffing. Shit. I am appalled at you. What the hell? How does anyone do that? Good grief. What a freaking rockstar you are! Amazing.

  17. shelli Says:

    Food Network has contests – You could totally win the 10 grand! That’s beautiful!

  18. Jude Says:

    OH MY GOD, that is the most awesome cake I have ever seen in my entire life. I am not kidding – I am stunned!!!

  19. Tracy Says:

    holy crap! i don’t even understand how this was done… do you have pics of the cake making process?
    it. is. awesome.

  20. oneofhismoms Says:

    Dag.
    You think you (cyber) know someone, and they come up with something like this! I agree, you don’t seem like the most patient person, but you do seem extremely passionate. That’s why I think you could take three days to make something that will be consumed in one night. I do hope you occasionally get to watch that cake-baking reality show based in Baltimore. The name escapes me…. Cake City? Perhaps you should quit your day job.

  21. dis Says:

    Holy crap that thing was awesome!

  22. frog Says:

    Wow. Just…wow.

  23. holly Says:

    OMG! That is amazing!!!
    I agree that this is definitely a money making talent. Wow!

  24. temmerling Says:

    that is fucking incredible!

  25. Andrea Says:

    AMAZING cake!!! And I just had to say that the post is frickin’ hilarious – Thanks for the laugh šŸ™‚

  26. emmakirsten Says:

    That’s the most awesome cake I have EVER SEEN!

  27. Hope Says:

    Zowie! That is mega impressive!

  28. G Says:

    Holy Hell! I LOVE that cake. If you were in my city, I’d hire you in a heart beat to make my step-daughter’s b-day cake for her party this weekend. What is the name of the book you’re using to get your ideas and recipes from?


Leave a Reply

