dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

what’s next at 12DP D&C? June 1, 2007

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 3:15 pm

Prepare for some serious TTC lingo. S’s HPT tests are still positive and so are OPKs. Our Clearblue Monitor sticks have the strongest LH surge I have ever seen. I know that HCG reacts very similarly to LH, so I am assuming that is why the OPKs are positive, but S also has creamy cervical fluid and feels like she’ll ovulate soon. I know that post miscarriage everything is all wonky, but I’m wondering what you all know about post D&C ovulation.

Does anyone know what we can expect here? Did this happen to anyone? Are OPKs in any way reliable after a miscarriage while HCG is still in her system?

Our next doctor’s visit is on Monday (14DP D&C) and she’ll check her lining via ultrasound and do an internal exam. S is feeling like she might have ovulated by then. So the question is: do we wait for the office visit before insemming, or just go for it on Sunday (13DP D&C)?

Here are my pros: Emotionally we are ready. I doubt it will even work this time since I think she needs Clomid to get pregnant. Trying will make us both feel better. If her lining isn’t good enough to support a pregnancy, it won’t implant, no harm done. I can find no scientific evidence that trying during the ovulation immediately following a D&C increases chance of a second miscarriage. If her body can’t do it, or it is a crappy egg, I think we just won’t get pregnant. If we don’t get pregnant it will not be devastating (well it might but it won’t be worse than not trying at all – both ways we will be in July of 2007 with no pregnancy and no baby.)

Cons: If she miscarries again we’ll shoot ourselves. Not really. But that would fucking suck.

 

6 Responses to “what’s next at 12DP D&C?”

  1. ohchicken Says:

    charlotte, i wish i had some medical proof, or at least an official statistic or two.
    i do know that my sister had a miscarriage in june 1998, and found out she was two month’s pregnant the following september. my nephew recently turned 9.

    she had a “natural” miscarriage, and wasn’t specifically trying again immediately thereafter. she was 34 years old.

  2. veeandjay Says:

    I have no idea if it’s likely to work or not, but if you feel ready to start trying again then I say go for it. Somehow, not trying sounds like it seems worse.

  3. e. Says:

    i have no real medical advice. but….my SIL m/c’d last august. her cycles were all messed up and without “trying” (charting) she was pregnant again in Oct (due this Aug). So it’s very possible that things are getting back to where they need to be.

    i bet if i were in your shoes and felt emotionally ready, i would go for it.

  4. Amy Says:

    If you were paying for sperm, I would say to wait until after she got her period. But since you’re not paying for sperm, I would say that you should go for it. I doubt that the miscarriage rate is higher- I think if anything, it might be a little more difficult to conceive. I wish you all the best. 🙂

  5. Bleu Says:

    I think you should do what feels right but keep the following in mind for sure.

    Hormones will be all over and very likely make ya think you are pregnant.

    First period after a d&c can be MAJOR (see my post about the 28 ounce flow day) so don’t get mindfu&%$d into thinking it is a another loss if it happens, it is likely just a period.

    All that said I have seen plenty of m/c boards where ppl got it that first O before even their first period after their m/c.

    Good luck.

  6. Bri Says:

    It sounds like you already know this, but yes – there’s no way the OPK will be accurate until the HCG is gone. I did the OPK as HPT thing when pg and it was a lovely line – they are too chemically similar. I think you should have more betas. Information always helps, and it will quell the panic. I tested with an Internet cheapie at 3 weeks post m/c and the line was incredibly faint – that was when it turned out to be 5.4. No, they aren’t firmly quantitative but they certainly do get darker with higher numbers – we all know that. I would get it checked. But also remember that it can take for-freaking-ever for it to really drop and it could just be hovering right now. I would personally not try again until there was no HCG, but that is just me and I don’t know what it would feel like to have free sperm. I just know it would make me nervous. I am so sorry – this waiting and guessing and trying to figure out what the hell is happening is really grueling.


Leave a Reply

