dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

progesterone irritation April 25, 2007

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 4:51 am

In more ways than one. Literally, the suppositories irritate the ‘area’. That is why we got the new prescription for the pills, but our insurance won’t cover it without prior authorization. Between getting the authorization and the scrip, S read the pamphlet that comes with the pills. One of the things it said was not to take it during pregnancy. Not kidding!

So she googled it, and there are plenty of credible sites and doctors who recommend NOT taking progestins (the synthetic progesterone in the hoo has and the pills) during pregnancy because they have not been shown to safe to the fetus. WHA?? Who knows what to believe from Dr. Google, but it was absolutely not hippy dippy sources questioning the safety of the synthetic progestins. But we don’t want to stop taking them and induce a miscarriage. Last night there was much freaking out. In the light of day, today, we are both feeling better about the whole thing, but it still freaks S out. I know plenty of folks are delivering healthy babies after taking progesterone. But it makes me distrustful and grumpy that my doctor did not discuss any possible risk. There was no mention that it was controversial. In fact we were told the opposite. That there was NO HARM, that it may not help but that it could not hurt. Grrr.

 

13 Responses to “progesterone irritation”

  1. M. Says:

    Can you switch to a natural form instead of the synthetic? That’s what Sacha took as I read the same thing that synthetic progestins could cause birth defects and that only the natural form should be used.

  2. Co Says:

    The FDA used to think that progesterone supplements caused birth defects. The most recent thing I read is that they reversed that decision in 1999 because the empirical evidence didn’t support it.

    http://www.fda.gov/ohrms/dockets/98fr/041399a.txt

    Are you sure the progesterone in hoo-has and the pills S. was prescribed is synthetic progesterone? Are you sure it’s not natural progesterone or close to natural progesterone? Pharmacists mold those hoo-has by hand. Everything I’m finding on the web (including something on the March of Dimes website about a study involving vaginal progesterone suppositories helping reduce pre-term births) says the hoo-has prescribed by physicians are made of natural progesterone or close to natural. I can ask Dr. Quick on Friday, if you want. He didn’t make me sign anything before taking the hoo-has, but I did have to sign long documents before I took Clomid, did injectibles, or consented to IVF, longish scary documents listing risks to me and a potential baby. If Dr. Quick didn’t feel he needed lawsuit protection about the hoo-has, I’m guessing the data doesn’t make him concerned about them. He is a researcher as well as a physician, so despite his brusque nature, I do trust him to be well-informed.

    I am sorry there is irritation for S. You could find out what the pharmacist used to mold them and see if the pharmacist could use something else next time you fill it. I believe there are 2 choices, and one is more likely to cause issues than the other.

    I am sorry no one discussed risks or any of this with you or S. Can you call the doctor who prescribed them and ask about birth defects?

  3. TTC4years Says:

    When I was doing my horrid IUIs last year, my fertility doc said if for some freak reason I was impregnated, that I would be taking the hoo-ha progesterone for some time into the pregnancy…and I sympathize on this one– they are kinda icky and irritating.. cocoa butter 24/7 is not soothing….I dont know if it was synthethic or not, and I didnt even consider to ask about a pill form… I was too “clomid’d” out for reason.

    BTW- this is a great blog, just discovered you yesterday, and it is nice of you to share so honestly. And I didn’t even hate you for your good news ( sorry, infertility for 4 years can make you a hater of all fertile folks.)

    đŸ™‚

  4. bri Says:

    I know that when I was doing the hoo-ha bullets, I read similar stuff and called my pharmacy to check whether it was natural or synthetic. It was natural, much to my relief.

    I am sorry to say, though, that I didn’t even ask or research or check when I was taking the pills. I was beyond caring by then. And loving the sleep. Awful but true.

    I would call the doctor. And see how many weeks she suggests S. stay on the pill. And then just get off as soon as seems possible, since it’s nerve-wracking. Or follow Co’s advice and see if you can get the hoo-has put into a different substance.

  5. I have a friend who miscarried twice. She swears that the existence of her six-year-old is thanks to the progesterone suppositories she took during her third pregnancy. He is a lovely kid.

    Good luck to you!

  6. Calliope Says:

    I think most of the stuff that is going to be prescribed to go up the va jay jay is going to be natural. Like Co said- many pharms. make/mold these themselves and so you can ask them to change the additive. I think mine was mixed with some sort of nut oil?

    But totally check with your doc to make sure.
    xo

  7. Bleu Says:

    Progesterone supps absolutely saved Bliss from m/c’ing. I suffered a progesterone m/c before him. My levels were only at 17 which was fine and the dropped overnight at 5.5 weeks pregnant to 9. Compounded progesterone suppositories are made from natural progesterone. Prometrium is also made from natural progesterone. Very little given is synthetic these days. Yes there are still docs who will say it does not work, it is BS. I can give you TONS of research I have if you want. The fact is, though, that if you get tested weekly and the numbers stay good you would be fine without it. After 12-14 weeks the placenta will be formed enough to start producing progesterone on it’s own.

  8. Vikki Says:

    I used the progesterone suppositories. I never questioned it because I feared another miscarriage. I don’t have any advice other than to say, “I’ve been there” and lend support.

  9. charlotte Says:

    I checked with the pharmacy and the medium is a fatty acid which usually does not cause side effects or rashes. Apparently, S is reacting to the medicine itself. Also, our doc confirmed today what you all are saying, that it is the “natural” progesterone. She had no comment about why the pills say “don’t take while pregnant”! Anyway, thanks for all of your experience and reassurance. It really helped S.

  10. I can tell that this is not the first time at all that you mention the topic. Why have you chosen it again?

  11. chilly1978 Says:

    when i was 5.5 weeks my doctor told me that my progesterone level was 5.9. He started me on the suppositories right away 100mg 3 times a day. They must be doing something right because I am now just about 9 weeks and feel great.

  12. yvette rodriguez Says:

    There needs to be more longitudinal studies done on the use of progesterone during gestation (effects on the fetus). I used it, my daughter is 14 years old and she has a slew of health issues that are “supposedly” genetic but no one in my family or in my husband’s family has these conditions. I am an attorney, and I intend to get to the bottom of this. Be careful ladies, something is amiss here.

    • Concernedmama Says:

      I am distinctly getting the feeling, after doing many hours of research, that the connection between progesterone supplementation and birth-defects is getting grossly underplayed. It has been connected with cleft palate, hypospadia and abdominal wall defects to name the few that are recognized. There are several other mothers who have mentioned a rational connection with their child’s birth defect and having taken progesterone during pregnancy, but were not specific as to the resulting defect. I believe real life cases over the FDA’s adjudications any day (look at all the court cases that have recently been won by parents of autistic children in vaccine court).

      Anyhow, if you don’t mind helping me to gather a little more data – specifically what type of progesterone supplements were you taking, what dosage, what route and what time duration (ie: for the full 10-12 weeks?) Also, if you don’t mind sharing, what are some of the major health issues that your daughter faces – thanks.


Leave a Reply

