dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

baby showers don’t suck when your wife is pregnant. April 22, 2007

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 5:06 am

Hallelujah. It’s a miracle. I just got back home after throwing a baby shower for WTF, and it did not suck to see her pregnant (and super hot BTW), it did not suck to see the other ginormous pregnant chick, and finally it did not suck to see the itty bitty mellow baby. 10,005 bricks have been lifted off my shoulders and it is lovely.

.

In other news, I am wondering if I am secretly trying to compete with S by growing my own pregnant tummy, one made entirely of fat.

Seriously. I have gained like 10 lbs in the last 2 months and it is all going to my stomach (well, and my ass). But I am truly starting to look pregnant, because the rest of me isn’t fat, and I have bad posture.

Wow. I’m like a creepy chick. Just wait, I’m going to start to feeling ‘the baby’ move. Dude. I’m freaking myself out.

 

6 Responses to “baby showers don’t suck when your wife is pregnant.”

  1. temmerling Says:

    AH! Good old couvade! I know thee well.

  2. Co Says:

    Glad you are feeling happy still.

    We met our former PKD’s wife for the first time last night at a baby naming. I used to harbor a little bit of ill will toward her because she is the one who put her foot down and said he couldn’t be our donor (after we all met and wanted to move forward… I don’t mind her saying “no” as much as I minded her not saying it earlier if she felt that strongly). Last night, I was able to be more than civil and nice to her (which I would’ve been no matter what) but downright friendly to her. God, it helped to be thinking in my head, “I don’t need your guy’s sperm anyway.” Indeed, I am never going to want his sperm now, because we want both of our kids to have Nerdy Science Guy as the donor.

    I also held my friends’ baby and whispered, “This is the first baby I’m holding while knowing I am pg.” (I actually held my nephew while pg, too, but I didn’t know.) That was a good feeling.

  3. carey Says:

    Your comments about your belly made me laugh! I’ve been growing my “IVF-baby-belly-minus-the-baby” for some time now… it’s def. larger than my pregnant wife’s 9w4d belly!

    Glad to hear the shower went well!

  4. Lo Says:

    I don’t think I’ve truly experienced couvade, but I will say that at times I like to think I’m eating for two…

  5. Calliope Says:

    I think my belly just decided to be preggo 20 some odd months ago…seriously. crunches don’t work!!!

    so glad that the shower went well. I am imagining lots of secret smiles. 🙂

  6. lagiulia Says:

    Preggo belly / not fat on the rest of my body here too. I think my boys stretched my belly out so much that it ain’t never going back, and when I become full or bloated… well, let’s just say I would not dare wear one of those baby-doll shirts that are in style right now.

    I am SO glad for you that you’re enjoying the pregnancy. Yay!


Leave a Reply

