dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

ibuprofin March 31, 2007

Filed under: ttc — charlotte @ 4:56 pm

Does anyone know if Advil/Motrin/Ibuprofin negatively impacts ovulation? S has been abstaining despite headaches cramps and now an awful achy cold because our old RE said that it could affect ovulation. Tylenol doesn’t cut it, but S doesn’t want to risk it.

.

Her estrogen line on the monitor is getting significantly lighter (which happens before an LH surge). We’ll see what happens tomorrow, but it is looking like she’s not going to have a late surge. This cycle feels like an entirely new one because we messed with shit and we have no idea what is going to happen. Here’s to a plump egg.

 

3 Responses to “ibuprofin”

  1. Co Says:

    From The Essential Guide to Lesbian Conception, Pregnancy, and Birth by K. Toevs and S. Brill

    “Before conception, in the first half of the menstrual cycle, it’s also best to avoid [aspirin and ibuprofen], as they inhibit prostaglandin production, which in turn can inhibit ovulation. (Prostaglandins are natural chemicals essential to the working of the muscle in the ovary to release the egg.)”

    Sorry. If S. wasn’t on Clomid, I’d say to hell with it. But since she’s putting her body through that, she might want to continue to abstain. Obviously, her call though.

    I am sorry S. is feeling so lousy. I hope she feels better soon and gets a nice plump egg.

  2. Petah Says:

    Hiya, Well I can only speak for myself, but I popped Nurofin Plus (ibuprofen and codine) like tic tacs (up to around 6-8 a day) Due to a very physical job I had just started, and I was diagnosed a infertile by my doctor, who told me to go on clomid to try and ovulate. I never did get to use clomid because 12 days later I was pregnant. So my using the ibuprofen did nothing to stop me ovulating, even after a doctor told me otherwise!

    I definitely wouldn’t think that one or two would hurt. The body is better at adapting then we give it credit for anymore.

    Best of luck!

  3. jenny Says:

    My RE told me the Ibuprophen does not screw with ovulation. He told me he tells all his patients this because of the misinformation that has been spread about ibuprophen.


Leave a Reply

