dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

i hate my cats February 2, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 3:17 am

S starts her antibiotics (and so do I) on Saturday, to kill the ureaplasma and fend of a uterine infection from the HSG. We are also attempting to repair, slowly, our relationship with UD and H, in case S can’t get pregnant. Maybe they will be ready in a couple months.

In other news: I hate my cats. They pee and poop in our house sometimes, and scratch on LM’s door when he is about to fall asleep. We can’t own or wear black clothing. Our 25 pound cat (no joke) likes to step on my neck. Seriously people. Animals are SO much less appealing after you have a kid. You think it won’t happen to you and you judge those that ignore their pets after a baby, but then it happens to you. Hate them.

 

9 Responses to “i hate my cats”

  1. B Says:

    AMEN, sister. We started the baby journey with four cats (all M’s). She used to let them sleep with us… eeewww…

    After she got pregnant, we moved them out of the bedroom/nursery zone. When we bought our house with light carpets, we ‘banished’ them to the playroom and the garage.

    Since they were an old bunch, we’re down to one… and he’s STILL gross and annoying! Even M says, “I wish he could just be ‘done’ already!”

    We suck. And we don’t care. Because we know we’re better moms than cat owners.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    How very, very sad for your poor pets.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    It is possible to love your pets and your children at the same time. I’ve seen it done many times.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I am so disgusted by your apathy towards your poor animals that I have deleted you from my favourites and will no longer be reading your blog.

    Shame on you.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    I’m really disgusted by this post about your animals. You chose to have children when you already had pets. It’s not their fault that you’ve changed. If you really feel this way, why don’t you give them to someone who would love them like they deserve? I feel so sad for them.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Did it ever occur to you that your poor cats are peeing and pooping in your house because they are feeling neglected?

    Animals are not toys that we can buy and then later ignore when we get bored of them or circumstances in our life change. They are living beings who have feelings and needs and deserve to be treated with respect for all of the years of their lives.

    People like you make me very sad. I feel so sorry for your poor cats.

    Please do us all a favour and don’t own any more pets.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    That’s odd because I have 2 cats and also have a 14 month old son. I have never for a second stopped loving my cats. They are cherished members of this family and will remain as such for as long as we are blessed with them.

    I also worry about what you are teaching your child about the treatment of animals. That they are throwaways? That they are great for when it’s convenient for you to own one? But when it becomes inconvenient for you then it’s ok to neglect them?

    How frightening.

  8. ArtSweet Says:

    I know that UD and H have disappointed you horribly and you have every right to be pissed off at them. So forgive me for asking this question… But I do wonder, if your relationship with them isn’t worth salvaging for reasons beyond getting the juice, might that not be part of the issue in the first place?

    Cheesy women’s magazine advice about “rekindling the spark” comes to mind… cuddle for the sake of cuddling and don’t think about it as a prelude to more. Can you “cuddle” with them and not think about getting them to “put out”?

  9. Kim Says:

    I’m behind the times, and playing catch-up on my fav blogs, but… I totally understand you on the pets thing! Since practically every married couple I know has had kids in the last 2 years– and they all had pets beforehand– I have heard ALL the pets-post-baby tales. Hugs to you and S.

    And to all the stupid people who wrote negative comments, go to hell. Pets are animals, and are not as important as our children. I know I’m not very PC, but there it is. I mean, if I were a mom, and I had to choose between giving care and attention to my baby or to my dog, the dog would just be shit outta luck. I wouldn’t stop loving it, but my focus would shift; my priorities would change.

    And anyone who thinks that you should value a dog or cat’s needs above your own or those of your child/ren, is an idiot.

    And unlike you, I’m not too chickenshit to sign my name to my comments. I mean, if you’re going to have the nerve to rail on someone that hard, at least have the balls to sign your name to it.

    I bet the anonymous commenters go around in masks doing secret animal liberation missions. Bah!


Leave a Reply

