dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

RE Appointment #2 January 5, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 6:14 am

This was the appointment that was cancelled, unavailable, partially rescheduled, fully rescheduled, then the time was changed. When S finally got there (without me because I had to be with LM and I found out that they FROWN UPON bringing your child to the office AT ALL, but that is another post) and gave her name at the front desk all the office chicks were laughing with S about how well they know me by now, but have never spoken with S.

She saw Nurse Nice, got swabbed and pricked and questioned. Done. We got a packet of info about how they do everything.

HSG (dye test) before Clomid.
Swabs and cultures before HSG.
No IUIs during the same cycle as the HSG, but if you get it at least 3 days prior to ovulation you can do a fresh insemination.

As the nurse was explaining all the tests, blood draws, and the details of the HSG and Clomid, all my poor S could think was ‘boy I feel badly for the people who have to go through all this…I’m glad it exists for those people.’Heh. Yeah, we both know we are those people at this point.

How can I explain the 19 hours of conversation we have had in the last few days…well, I won’t because no one would read it. I will summarize by explaining our new possible option. I will call it plan I. But I will get to that in a minute. First I must give you a briefest of brief rundown on why it is called Plan J.

Plan A is we get to make a baby together. Oops we are chicks. NoGo.
Plan B is S has our first baby. Didn’t happen because I wanted to go 1st (and the situation was right)
Plan C is we get a baby related to both of us with a known donor. Check. Done. LM.
Plan D is S has a second baby via a KD in close proximity to baby #1. NoGo. Soooo Over.
Plan E is S has a second baby with a great, perfect KD who looks like me etc. Oh holy hell how over that is.
Plan F is S has a baby with frozen sperm. Two shots, hated it, over.
Plan G is S has a baby with a new KD. Not working.

So we move on to the current plans. The two plans we are stuck between.

Plan H is S goes through some testing and possibly asks KD to go through testing IUIs etc, and we continue trying to get her pregnant.

Plan I is S forfeits her turn (sucks ass), and Charlotte has baby #2 (baby who will be related to both and a full sib for LM).

Oh how we struggle. Yes we have considered taking a month off to decide, but that sounds utterly unappealing to both of us.

So tonight at dinner a new plan emerged. S wants to be pregnant pretty bad, but she also is not sure she wants it bad enough to keep trying, at this point, in this situation. But she cannot seem to shake the sense that she might regret not being pregnant. Thus, Plan J.

Plan J is that Charlotte has the next kid, knowing that S may be fine with two kids in the future, and might be fine not being pregnant once we have our complete family, UNLESS she decides that she does need to do it! In which case we will try again for her, with a dreaded third child (only I dread the idea of a third child – it just feels like we’ll need a school bus to schlep our hordes around town). So if she wants it that badly after we have two she will be willing to go through all the tests and put forth all the necessary emotional energy.

Plan J involves a risking that she will feel the need to do it after all and to do so we would be forced to try for a third kid. But it could also happen that she is happy with the two we get and we will be done.

I am so tired and talked out that I don’t even know if this post makes sense. We don’t want to be making a cop out decision because we can’t face the reality that S might never get to have a baby. Yet, it feels VERY relieving to have another plan…one that is not either I go or she goes. But we are still totally not sure that it is a good idea. It feels hard for both of us to let go of our dreams of S being pregnant right now. Or ever. HOnestly, I don’t want 3 kids, although that could change later, and Maybe I’m willing to change that now. And at this point it is becoming harder for me to shake the excitement I’m feeling about me having another once (how effing quickly that happened).

So we are playing video games and totally not talking about it. Speaking of which I must return to said video game so we can snuggle on the couch and discuss our game strategy and totally NOT discuss our baby strategy. Last night we stayed up until 1am playing together. Oh the geekiness.

OK I’m done. Phew. Tell me what you think of it all.

 

8 Responses to “RE Appointment #2”

  1. Co Says:

    I know how much you two have processed all of this. It sounds like a good plan to me. I like that it allows S. the possibility of trying again at some point, that that window isn’t closed to her just because you two don’t want to do the invasive medical stuff and you don’t want to keep trying using the plan that hasn’t been working so far. I also like that it doesn’t mean you two have to have 3 kids. It’s a conversation for later.

    It makes sense to me. Hugs.

  2. B Says:

    Delurking to say WOW. What an amazing process. I may suggest your list of plans to M someday…

    Good luck!

  3. Round is Funnywww.roundisfunny1.wordpress.com Says:

    I like your plan J. Creative thinking.

    Though our situations look very different, I can relate on some level: NSG and I both really wanted to adopt at least one, and it’s been such an amazing way to get kid #1, and I have no need for a child that’s biologically connected to me… I just don’t know if I can give up the experience of getting pregnant just one time. And we’re facing potentially the same dilemma at some point as you – try again the same way, and then maybe have a 3rd, or just forfeit the experience and call it a day with a family of 4? Whew!

    Anyway, hang in there. It sounds like you’re working together on this, which is what matters most.

  4. briwww.unwellness.com Says:

    This is exhausting. I am glad you have video games. I wish I had something more to give you – some good advice or some words of wisdom. It is a crappy situation – not having the RE stuff covered makes it all even more complicated than I can imagine. I just wanted to say I was thinking of you and wishing you peace this weekend.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Good luck!

  6. Sacha Says:

    I feel sad that you’ve decided S. and current KD isn’t working. I know it’s been six tries but that is far from a diagnosis of infertility. At the same time, I know personally how hard six tries can feel and how tough it is on a relationship. It was probably the most serious threat to M. and myself we’ve ever faced and we are rock solid. And I too was bracing myself for that dx of Unexplained Infertility. It’s such a tough place to be in.

    There’s nothing wrong with Plan Bing it at this point.

    I think all your plans sound workable. Three kids would be workable. You bearing number 2 sounds workable. Even a couple more tries with S and Rocket Man is workable. It’s all about what works for you and S.

    Hold onto each other as tight as you can. You’ll get through this one way or another.

  7. Merr Says:

    Sounds good to me, because that is what we are doing!

  8. sariel & shlomit Says:

    i have been catching up. phew. i really feel for both of you…on the one hand i am, of course, jealous at the option of 2 uteruses…on the other, i can see how tortuous that can be….i also know a couple who tried #1’s fertilized eggs implanted into #2…more options can = more stress…
    i’m wishing for much peace for you both as you find the baby that is yours…you are lucky to have eachother…
    peace
    shlomit


Leave a Reply

