dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

Everything checks out November 14, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 11:28 pm

S got the results of her hormone testing back this week. Everything looks normal. I have to say that I kinda wish something was wrong, so we could fix it and move forward knowing she will get pregnant. I know this is ridiculous, but I feel it nonetheless.

Her values were the following (all done on 7 DPO):

Progesterone: 15

Testosterone: 42

Prolactin: 8

FSH: 83

DHEAS: 160

I am posting this because my acupuncturist said everything looks totally normal, but I want to make sure she isn’t missing anything and I trust y’all with all your fancy REs and such.

I’m trying to decide if we should drive (well more specifically if I should convince S to drive) an hour and a half to a fertility clinic and get a more thorough work up. I don’t think our insurance covers anything, but I’m curious if S should have an ultrasound or something. She is very against getting a HSG (the dye test) as she hates all drugs and invasive procedures. She won’t even microwave anything in plastic ever.

Just to recap we have had four failed tries…2 IUIs and 2 fresh tries. Also keep in mind that WTF got pregnant 5 TIMES with this sperm on the first try. In her thirties. 5 TIMES people.

 

10 Responses to “Everything checks out”

  1. Co Says:

    My infertility workup consisted of:

    CD2/3: blood test checking hormones… FSH/Estradiol, LH, BhCG

    CD8-14: the dreaded HSG (which I know S. doesn’t want)

    Week 3 or 4?: blood test checking hormone… progesterone

    I also had tests for HIV, Hep, and cystic fibrosis, but that has nothing to do with fertility.

    So, I didn’t have all that much more done than S. did. Not sure if that helps or not.

  2. brihttp://www.unwellness.com Says:

    I hestitate to say so because who the hell knows… but it seems like that’s fine for now. As much as it sucks like a motherfucker and as much as I never never wanted to hear this possibility and as much as I was SOOOO sick of trying after 4 tries… it may just take a while. I’m sorry. Don’t hit me.

  3. Sacha Says:

    I echo Bri. It may take a while. I finally called it Taking Some Time to Get Pregnant. It’s an exclusive club. We have monthly meetings and don’t tell all the annoying pregnant people that they are catered and the food is fabu.

    Keep hitting your head on the brick wall. It’s a growing experience (HA!) and you’ll never be the same. (YAY!)

    I’ll have M. send you this website that shows all the intricacies of getting pregnant. It really can’t be reduced to ‘he has good sperm’. It’s fucking VOODOO.

    Don’t hit me either.

  4. J Says:

    I know it’s infuriating, but, from what i’ve seen on the internets, it has taken 5-9 months for most to get knocked up.

    If you’re not paying for sperm, this is only less painful in the pocketbook, but also, I mean, if after 4-6 months of trying, I’d consider an HSG…..you don’t want to be shooting the stuff up there for nothing. Again, that’s more pertinant if you’re paying for it.

    And the good thing is you know that Rocket Man’s swimmers work. It just may take S’s body a little longer to play nice with them than WTF’s does.

    Sucky to wait, but yeah. It’s all about the waiting.

  5. Co Says:

    Oh, I also had an u/s for my infertility workup just to show that I had a follicle.

    I don’t know that an u/s will yield useful info for you guys. The only things an u/s during the first 2 weeks of a cycle could tell you, as far as I know, are (1) the size(s) of S’s follicle(s) and (2) the thickness of her lining. That’s not much useful info, and you’d probably have to have several done during the same cycle to make the info worthwhile. If you’re paying out of pocket and traveling a long distance, that seems a high price to pay for info that tells you little except that S. is likely ovulating, which you already know. I suppose if her lining is thin, a doctor could prescribe something to build it up a bit (progesterone would be my guess). But you have already talked about S. maybe taking progesterone.

    I am commenting again because I just want you to know that I don’t think there are great, detailed, non-invasive infertility tests out there that give tons of info, especially if you check out as healthy. So, I wouldn’t waste money on it.

    I’m sorry this hasn’t worked for you yet. I am hoping for a Thanksgiving day baby for you guys.

  6. Shelli Says:

    numbers look good. an HSG would prove that her tubes are viable – that’s the best one you can do – but hey, it can also just take time.

    I had 2 hsg’s and it’s a lovely “roto-reuter” for the tubes. An ultrasound would also help, it can show you what’s going on in there – but if the tubes are blocked, the only thing that will tell you that is an HSG…

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Those numbers look very normal. I’m going to e-mail you a site that has some good stats.

    Would she be up for u/s to check for follicles? That is the only thing I can think of that would help at this point.
    xo

  8. Michelle Says:

    I’m no expert on the #s. And I will say that WTF and Rocket Man are clearly some super fertile people – I don’t think you can or should expect it to happen on the first, or second, or third, or fourth try, as much as that sucks. Given that you know you’ve got good timing, I might start testing if you’re still in this position in another 2 months – that’s my assvice for the day. After six months of perfect timing is when we started looking into why things weren’t working (turned out to be severe MFI, in our case). I will say that I’ve only heard that the HSG is painful when there are blockages, in which case, you’ll be happy that you did the HSG to open things up. I was fortunate in that mine was a total breeze. Good luck to you!!!

  9. Anonymous Says:

    It took me 12 times but it finally worked and I have a perfect 2 year old. I would like to have another but the thought of going through this again is sometime overwhelming. I know how hard it is, believe me. Odds are in your favor since you have some proven fresh sperm. Don’t give up yet!

  10. lagiulia Says:

    Just wanted to say that I am thinking of you and hoping for the best. Four months feels like a lot, but it is still well within “normal” range. Try not to compare yourself to WTF. That is extraordinarily fertile (although I know she has had a lot of other problems to deal with – don’t mean to ignore that). PS- Bri has made me really sorry that I didn’t get to meet you 😦


Leave a Reply

