dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

Di@manda G@las – Si La Muerte October 17, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 6:32 am

S completely hearts Di@manda G@las. She’s a singer and little intense for me, seeing as some of her songs are just screaming, literally. But she’s an opera singer, with a 4 octave range. Anyhoo, here are the lyrics to one of her songs, one that I actually like if I’m in a dark mood. It is in Spanish (and way more beautiful in that language), but here is the English translation:

Si La Muerte

If death should come asking for me
do me the favor
of telling him to come back tomorrow
because I still haven paid my debts
nor finished a poem
nor said goodbye to anyone
nor prepared clothing for the trip
nor delivered that package I promised to
nor locked up my desk drawers
nor told my friends what I should have
nor sniffed the fragrance of the unborn rose
nor laid bare my roots
nor answered an overdue letter
because I haven’t even washed my hands
or known a son
or gone hiking in unknown countries
nor do i know the seas seven sails
nor the song of mariners
If death should come
please tell him I understand
and to wait a bit
because I haven’t kissed my sweetheart goodbye
nor shaken hands with my family
nor dusted my books
nor whistled my favorite song
nor reconciled with my enemies
tell him I haven’t yet attempted suicide
nor seen my people freed
tell him if he comes to return tomorrow
that it’s not because I fear him but
I haven’t even set off along the road.

 

3 Responses to “Di@manda G@las – Si La Muerte”

  1. Ruth & Marolyn Says:

    wow very cool lyrics. We have a friend who is head over heels for Diamanda. I’ve gotta admit on first hearing her I didn’t quite share his enthusiasm but after reading your post I understand now.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    that really spoke to me today.
    thank you

  3. Lo Says:

    That’s a lovely song.


Leave a Reply

