dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

I hate try #3 already (WHICH HAPPENS NEXT WEEK). September 19, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 4:26 am

I’m so over it.

To save money, I will do the IUIs. Yes, you heard me. ME.

The whole thing is actually not complicated, and after last time with the tanaculum fiasco, well… we would rather me take an hour than do that again with Dr. Poor Social Skills. I know it is fairly standard, but the midwife told us that if you wiggle and try you can often do it without using a torture device. I think the western medical profession just hasn’t bothered to research anything else. I mean do you think that they would use a tanaculum on a man’s balls? HELLS NO.

Plus, it really is not that hard. I’m just gonna do it. I know about the whole sterile field and it may take me an hour, with beads sweat of sweat running down my forehead but hopefully not anywhere else.

Last time I did the second insem at home, and I got really hot (from the STUPID glaring light we use) and I brushed the STUPID catheter on S’s STUPID unwashed thumb, ruining the sterile field and forcing me to just do an ICI (intracervical instead of intrauterine). I didn’t want to risk infection by introducing a non strile object into the uterus.

I felt like giant dork, and it was an expensive mistake.

This time I will be all kinds of serious.

I will focus like a sperm wielding bisexual Ninja inseminator.

 

10 Responses to “I hate try #3 already (WHICH HAPPENS NEXT WEEK).”

  1. vee Says:

    *howling*
    A sperm wielding bisexual Ninja inseminator?
    I NEED a picture!!!!

  2. calliopehttp://erstellen.blogspot.com/ Says:

    Go Ninja, go!!!

  3. Round is Funnyhttp://www.roundisfunny1.wordpress.com Says:

    Did you hear that? You must have – that was me howling with laughter about the sperm wielding bisexual Ninja inseminator.

    Well, I hope it worked.

  4. Sarah and BB Says:

    That is just too funny!!

    Go Ninja GO!!

  5. Sacha Says:

    hey, do you want some sterile gloves? Email me.

  6. brihttp://www.unwellness.com Says:

    My doctor and NP have never used the tenaculum on me even when my cervix is being stubborn and oh how I am grateful. They just bend the catheter and try again. They also leave notes in my file for one another if they have difficulty, since I do 2 per cycle – “Bend to the left” for example. I bet you’ll be able to figure it out pretty easily with time and patience and sweat.

  7. J Says:

    haha.

    Great image!

  8. Wendy & Karen Says:

    I’m very glad you chose to spell that marvelous phrase out. I’d have never been able to translate SWBNI, but I think it could catch on {snicker}. What a hoot!

  9. J-Lehttp://thetwinkle.wordpress.com/ Says:

    oh my goodness – you are impressive!

  10. frog Says:

    I can’t wait to hear about this–we’re doing IUIs this round, too, but we’re having a midwife come to the house to do them.

    Sterile field + six cats = excellent blog fodder


Leave a Reply

