dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

ttc (in the lower case) April 27, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 4:57 am

Update: I am so not obsessed that I can blog about ttc!! Boy that no TTC talk made me so fucking boring…except the food blog is really good for me.

There is nothing like someone moving from your sperm donor, to maybe not your sperm donor to really highlight the flaws. Talk about clay feet**.

I won’t go into the flaw details…but let’s just say they exist. We had not heard from The Wife for a bit, but she emailed me recently and we had a pleasant exchange. I swing back and forth on any given day regarding what the result of this drama will be. This process has absolutely made me feel less attached to this PKD and whatever happens I believe I will ultimately be happier with the result. If they say yes, I will be relieved and happy (that’s the truth), and if they say no I will be disappointed, but…

…but I experienced a solid, good, strong “yes” go to a maybe…so I know deeply now that whatever we or anyone agrees to with a KD, it can change, it can get weird, things can go South. You are dealing with people and feelings forever. A KD is still my first choice, this PKD is still my firstest choice, but the Froyo is now a close second. Previously it was a 3rd runner up, and 3 people need to die or be maimed for said contestant to wear the crown. So it’s a relief to have a viable runner up, and a beauty queen with some bona fide clay feet.

**Feet of clay means ‘a weakness or hidden flaw in the character of a greatly admired or respected person’.

The phrase is from the Bible (Daniel 2: 31-40). King Nebuchadnezzar has a dream. The image that appears to him has a head of gold, breast and arms of silver, belly and thighs of brass, and legs of iron. The feet of this image are made of iron and clay. A stone hits the feet and the whole image breaks into pieces.

 

2 Responses to “ttc (in the lower case)”

  1. Calliope Says:

    hmmmm “pleasant exchange”?
    is it me or is she the dangling chad in all of this?

    (glad you are ok with quietly sort of kind of talking blogging about ttc)

  2. Lo Says:

    As someone who also wants very, very badly to blame a Wife, Cali, I will say that human beings are complicated. Our ex-PKD expressed to us that he really wanted to do it and his Wife was not comfortable. I like that story and it has a person to blame. But I have never even met this Wife. No wonder I want to blame her.

    My latest idea (it’s not so original, it’s just something I’ve been mulling over lately) is that because we are animals, there’s a lot of instinctual reactions that happens around DNA.

    Charlotte, I did not know the origin of the term “clay feet”, and (being a religious studies nerd) find it seriously fascinating. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

