dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

The Days of the Dead April 14, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 8:26 pm

This is a photo I took at a Dias de los Muertos market in Mexico last year.

I have family in Mexico.

(I’m trying to see if I can blog about other stuff.)

I think I will so a series on this celebration/holiday/ritual, because it is about death…and could not be further from baby blogging.

This is the opposite of birth, and is quite beautiful…it is about family and love and mourning, and it just feels appropriate.

 

8 Responses to “The Days of the Dead”

  1. Calliope Says:

    oh wow. I LOVE the colors in that photo.

    Tell me more, tell me more!

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I went to a Dias de los Muertos festival in San Francisco last year. It was on the first anniversary of my father’s death. It was a wonderful experience that made that day about love and remembrance rather than mourning.

  3. Whimsy Says:

    I like the sugar heads they make for the holiday- I can never remember if you can actually eat them…

    If you’re up for it, I’m bugging people to chat again, today or tomorrow at 7. check my blog for details, :o)

  4. Lo Says:

    I’m with Calliope, I love the photo. (I’m having digital camera envy.)

    Also, as a person with a passion for religion (not so much my own, other people’s), I am fascinated by ancestor worship….I think it is so, well, normal. I am looking forward to your series. (I majored in Religion in college.)

  5. hd Says:

    I learned a bit about the Dias de los Muertos in Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal Dreams–have you read it? It’s beautiful…like your picture.

  6. Mikhela Says:

    VERY important to blog about other things. See, we can have well rounded lives too (as well as obsessing over thermometers and lick-analysers and wee-sticks and, and , and…)

  7. Estelle Says:

    Gorgeous! I love that picture!

  8. M. Says:

    What a beautiful photo!


Leave a Reply

