dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

Pessimism Con’t February 21, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 1:37 am

You know what makes me mad? Really mad and sad????

When S. and I are walking down the beach with our son between us holding hands, when we are at Costco buying bulk organic frozen meals, when we are having an argument in Starbucks about LM’s naps, when we are sitting together in an Ikea display and I am nursing LM…PEOPLE DON’T ASSUME WE ARE A COUPLE. PEOPLE DON’T ASSUME OUR SON IS BOTH OF OURS. PEOPLE DON’T KNOW WE ARE A FAMILY.

I hardly ever get weird looks, or experience any acts of blatant homophobia in our town. But sometimes I just feel really unseen, and sometimes that hurts just as badly.

 

5 Responses to “Pessimism Con’t”

  1. remy Says:

    Yep that fully sucks.

    Stacy

  2. Emmakirst Says:

    Awwww, that would be an awful feeling.

  3. Stephanie Says:

    You know, I used to think about a similar thing. I was in an inter-racial relationship that was astounding to the people in our town. I frequently worried about their reactions. After the death of that relationship to my worry I decided that I didn’t give a flying crap what the guy at the next table thought, one way or the other. My life is just my life and other people can only influence it as far as I let them. πŸ™‚ I understand what your saying about being disregarded but I hope the frustration is passing. πŸ™‚

  4. Lo Says:

    “We’re not alone we’re together.” –Holly Near (I can’t help it. I was born in the 70s and I love Holly Near.)

    I hear you loud and clear, Charlotte. I think invisible is the lesbian cross to bear, as it were (I was thinking that as I wept my way through Brokeback Mountain the other day).

  5. M. Says:

    I already hate when Sacha and I are not seen as a family and I can imagine it will only be worse once we have a little one. We get so sick of checkers/wait staff asking, “Is this separate?” or co-workers seeing the two of us and saying, “Sisters?”. Well, I guess sisters are family, but we’re not that kind.


Leave a Reply

