dosmamas

two uteri, two mamas pregnant, AGAIN, with baby number two

I am an Inconsistent Overachiever February 19, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — charlotte @ 6:32 am


My overachieverness is sporatic.

Meaning: sometimes I am totally flaky (for example: my car looks like a homeless person lives there, I don’t scoop the cat litter as often as would be good for us or the cats, sometimes I leave the house looking like a shlumpy freak (but LM always looks hadsome), I’m late, I forget to call people back about really important stuff, recently I lost a check my grandma sent LM for his birthday (and she had to ask ME why it was not deposited, and I had completely forgotten about it, and it was for $100.) )

— YET, I am somehow also an overachiever… organized, type A, creative, detail oriented, OCD, a go-getter. A person who can make a cake for my son’s birthday party that looks like this.

You can light the cannons for F’s sake. Can you see the tiny little nail holes in the frosting planks???? I made the bananas out of marzipan (ok, the monkeys are plastic)
The theme was monkeys.

Additionally, I made him his very own monkey cake, sweetened only with honey. But I cannot manage to shave my legs all winter, because it is ‘too much trouble.’
Whatev.

 

7 Responses to “I am an Inconsistent Overachiever”

  1. Lo Says:

    Absolutely adorable. LM is soooo lucky!! 🙂

  2. Sarah and BB Says:

    Amazing work Charlotte!!

    Looks super yummy!!

    mmmmm….CAKE!!

  3. eryn Says:

    very nice!

  4. Calliope Says:

    mmmmmmmmm!
    very very clever.

    & really, at the end of the day, who wants to be known as the lady that cleans the litter promptly? I’d so rather be known as the chick that makes the groovy cakes.

  5. Sacha Says:

    I know what you mean. I can’t keep house worth shite but I’m an organized type A maniac at work…bloody spot on the bedsheets…CHANGE IT!!! I overachieve in areas that are unecessary on a regular basis.

    BTW, you are brilliant. I love both cakes. I think for all that work you deserve brownies, which I promise I’m making Monday when I can think again.

  6. Lo Says:

    Charlotte….would you be willing to email me your donor questionnaire? We’re meeting with PKD in less than a week now (oh. my. God.). The address is familyo at earthlink dot net.
    Many, many thanks.

  7. M. Says:

    I think you just pick what you want to spend time obsessing about and being detailed about and the cat box is not it! By the way, your cakes are soooo cool.


Leave a Reply

